Student Leadership Awards & Scholarships

The Student Leadership Awards & Scholarships program recognizes students and registered student organizations for academic excellence, a commitment to leadership at the University of Illinois, and a dedication to service at the local, national, and international levels.

For More Information:

Please Contact:

Lisa Jackson, ED. D.
Assistant to the Associate Vice Chancellor for Student Success, Inclusion, and Belonging

Apply Here:

Nomination Deadline:

The deadline to apply for all Student Leadership Awards & Scholarships is January 31st, 2023, at 11:59 PM. For questions regarding eligibility or the nomination form, students are welcome to visit the following drop-in hours:

  • Monday, January 23, 2023, 12-1pm in Illini Union Suite 290 (elevator next to the Quad Shop)
  • Wednesday, January 25, 2023, 3-5pm on Zoom (Register for Zoom information)
  • Tuesday, January 31, 2023, 12-1pm in Illini Union Suite 290 (elevator next to the Quad Shop)

Frequently Asked Questions

  • Students will self-nominate for all the awards and scholarships with the exception of the Stanley R. Levy Leadership Scholarship and the Susan Teegarden Morrison Leadership Scholarship, which require a faculty or staff member nomination.
  • Students can apply for multiple awards.
  • Monetary sums are given with each award/scholarship. The amount of each award may vary from one year to the next depending on funding available.
  • Most of the awards and scholarships are for individuals, but Registered Student Organizations (RSOs) may be nominated for the Joseph H. Smith Award.

Award & Scholarship Criteria

  • Awards and scholarships are selected by the Student Leadership & Scholarships Awards Selection Committee.

Awards Determined by Student Leadership & Scholarships Awards Selection Committee

Excellence in Leadership Awards

Recipient: Senior(s) (will graduate by December 2022)
Criteria: Exceptional leadership

Jean F. Hill Award

Recipient: Senior(s) from under-represented populations
Criteria: Exceptional leadership and overcame significant personal obstacles to earn their degrees

Irene D. Pierson Award

Recipient: Junior
Criteria: Exellence in student activities, leadership and academics

Barbara Seaquist Williams Leadership Award

Recipient: Junior, female
Criteria: Minimum cumulative GPA of at least 3.0 (A=4.0); outstanding leadership, impact on quality of University programs, services and/or activities; creativity and community awareness in her work

Joshua L. Grafton Scholarship Awards

Recipient: Sophomores
Criteria: Outstanding creativity, initiative and potential in his or her extracurricular activities

Patricia E. Askew Leadership Award

Recipient: Undergraduate student
Criteria: Exceptional leadership on campus; instrumental in creating or enhancing a registered student organization

Joseph H. Smith Award

Recipient: Undergraduate student, graduate/professional student, or RSO
Criteria: Develop an effective and sustaining activity toward interracial or cultural understanding and appreciation through outside classroom experiences

Stanley R. Levy Scholarship

Recipient: Sophomore or Junior undergraduate(s)
Criteria: Significant leadership positions. Recipients must hold leadership position within a registered student organization for following year. Must demonstrate financial need.
(Note: nominations for this award must be made by a faculty or staff member.)

Edith and Harry Darby Leadership Scholarship

Recipient: Junior undergraduate(s)
Criteria: Scholarship will be awarded based upon academic merit (minimum 3.0 GPA), and secondarily upon other measures of high achievement and excellence, such as outstanding campus leadership. Expected to hold leadership position within a registered student organization for following year.

Susan Teegarden Morrison Leadership Scholarship

Recipient: Sophomore or Junior undergraduate(s)
Criteria: For active leaders in major campus organizations; recipients are expected to hold leadership position within a registered student organization in the following academic year.

Cathy Acevedo Memorial Scholarship

Recipient: Undergraduate student
Criteria: Demonstrated interest in the advancement of Latino(a) issues and concerns.

Renée Romano Student Leadership Award

Recipient: Undergraduate student
Criteria: Exemplifies authentic leadership and has contributed a personal legacy of impact that benefits women students

Stan Sutherland Illinois Leadership Award

The Stan Sutherland Illinois Leadership Scholarship is provided to a student involved in the Illinois Leadership Center, as well as enrolled in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.